Skip to content ↓

Progress 8 and English Baccalaureate

To ensure that students follow high value courses with a core of academic subjects but with the opportunity to also take other options, the Attainment 8 and Progress 8 measures have been introduced. These have replaced the 5 A*-C (including English and Maths) as the main accountability measure at Key Stage 4. It can be summarised in the diagram below:

The English Baccalaureate initiative outlined by the Government, has been to identify a desirable range of subjects to be taken by KS4 students in all of the following subject areas: English; Maths; Sciences (including Computing); a modern language (including a language spoken fluently/ studied outside school); a humanity: History or Geography. Russell Group universities may ask about the English Baccalaureate on their application forms. (see the attached document for further details).

Contact Us

Hutchins Road
SE28 8AT